The maximum penalties for an OVI conviction vary depending on whether you are a first time offender or have prior OVI convictions on your record.
If you are a first time OVI offender and you are found guilty of operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI), it is usually charged as a first degree misdemeanor. That means that it would carry a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and a $1000 fine.
Other penalties could include probation, community service requirements, ignition interlock, license suspension, higher ago insurance rates as well as could impact your employment or educational opportunities. Read more here about the penalties for a first time OVI conviction in Ohio.
If you are found guilty of a second OVI, the penalties increase. Ohio law requires that if you are convicted of a second OVI offense, you must serve a mandatory at least 10 days in jail, with a maximum sentence of 6 months. If you have a “high test” (a BAC of .17 or higher), penalties may double as well.