Got a speeding or traffic ticket in Columbus / Franklin County?
Is your Ohio driver’s license suspended?
Did you miss a court date or forget to pay your traffic ticket?
Is there a Franklin County warrant out for your arrest due to a traffic violation?
Did you get pulled over for driving under suspension?
Our Columbus traffic attorneys have represented thousands of clients in Franklin County and surrounding areas facing traffic-related offenses. Cases we regularly defend include, for example:
If you have been charged with any of the above traffic violations, are seeking driving privileges, or have other traffic-related legal questions, our Ohio traffic attorneys can help.
Navigating the court system can be a challenge. This is particularly true in the Franklin County Municipal Court. The court handles a very large volume of cases — the Traffic Violations Bureau handed out more than 114,000 tickets in 2013 alone – more then 9,000 cases each month.
Columbus traffic attorney Douglas Riddell represents clients facing a wide range of traffic violations throughout Columbus.
The elements of commonly cited Columbus traffic violations are described below. In addition to the points described in the chart above, additional fines and penalties are explained below.
Drivers must comply with any lawful order of any police officer. Further, a driver cannot “willfully” try to flee or drive away after an officer has turned on his siren or lights indicating the driver must pull over.
Failure to comply with a lawful order by a police officer is a first degree misdemeanor in Columbus, carrying up to six months in jail, up to a $1000 fine.
Failure to comply also carries a driver’s license suspension of 3 months to 2 years. If found guilty of “willfully” fleeing an officer, the suspension can range from 3 years to a lifetime suspension.
If the driver has been found guilty of willfully fleeing police previously, the charge carries a mandatory 30 days in jail and a lifetime license suspension.
“No person shall fail to stop at a marked crosswalk in use by school children under the supervision of a trained crossing guard.” Violation is a minor misdemeanor carrying a maximum fine of $150.
(obstructing arrest under the Traffic Code)
No person shall “resist, hinder, obstruct or abuse” any officer while the officer is attempting to arrest someone under the Traffic Code. Violation is a minor misdemeanor carrying a maximum fine of $150.
A vehicle must be driven “as nearly as is practicable, entirely within a single lane or line of traffic and shall not be moved from such lane or line until the driver has first ascertained that such movement can be made with safety.”
Violation is a minor misdemeanor in most cases, carrying a maximum fine of $150. If the driver has one or more previous traffic convictions within the last year, the penalties are more serious.
A driver shall not follow another vehicle “more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed of such vehicle, and the traffic upon and the condition of the street or highway.”
Generally, violation is a minor misdemeanor punishable by a maximum $150 fine.
However, if you have been convicted or pleaded guilty to one or more other traffic violations within the last year, the fines are higher and can even carry the possibility of jail time.
The Columbus City Code prohibits “U” turns. Unless specifically permitted by a sign, “U” turns are illegal within the City of Columbus.
Violation is generally a minor misdemeanor, carrying a maximum fine of $150. If the driver has one or more previous traffic convictions within the last year, penalties can be more serious.
The Columbus statute provides that a vehicle cannot change lanes or make a turn “unless and until such person has exercised due care to ascertain that the movement can be made with reasonable safety” and until they give an “appropriate signal.”
The turn signal must be flashed continuously for at least one hundred (100) feet before turning or changing lanes.
Violation is a minor misdemeanor punishable by a maximum $150 fine. If the driver has one or more traffic convictions within the past year, fines increase as well as the possibility of jail time.
The Columbus ordinance prohibits texting while driving. Exceptions include:
- Texting to report a health or safety emergency
- Texting while the vehicle is parked or stopped, out of the way of traffic or stopped because the vehicle has broken down
Violation is a minor misdemeanor carrying a $150 fine.
Prohibits being in “physical control” of a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. “Physical control” means being in the driver’s seat and having possession of the ignition key (but not driving).
Violation is a first degree misdemeanor carrying a maximum fine of $1000, up to six months in jail and a driver’s license suspension of up to one year.
Prohibits operating a vehicle (a) “without due regard for the safety of persons or property” or (b) “in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property.”
Violation of section (a) (“without due regard”) is a fourth degree misdemeanor carrying a maximum fine of $250 and up to 30 days in jail.
Violation of section (b) (“willful or wanton disregard”) is a third degree misdemeanor carrying a maximum fine of $500 and up to 60 days in jail.
Penalties increase if the offender has a prior serious traffic offense within the past year.
Click here for more information of reckless driving charges in Columbus.