If convicted of an OVI in Ohio, suspension of your driver’s license is mandatory.

The amount of time of your suspension depends on your number of previous OVI / DUI convictions.

The amount of time before you are eligible for driving privileges depends on your number of prior OVI convictions and the number of times you have previously refused a chemical (breath, blood) test.

First Offense Ohio OVI / DUI License Suspension

If this is your first offense OVI conviction, the mandatory minimum license suspension is one year (but could be as long as 3 years).

When Are You Eligible for Driving Privileges on a First Offense OVI / DUI Conviction?

If you submitted to a breathalyzer test and blew over a .08, you would be eligible for driving privileges after the first fifteen days of your suspension.

If you refused to submit to a breath or blood test,  you would be eligible for driving privileges after the first thirty days of your suspension.

Second Offense Ohio OVI / DUI License Suspension

If this is your second OVI conviction within the past six years, the mandatory license suspension is one year (but could be as long as seven years)

When Are You Eligible for Driving Privileges on a Second Offense OVI / DUI Conviction in Six Years?

If you submitted to a chemical (breath, blood, etc) test and blew over a .08, you would be eligible for driving privileges after the first 45 days of your suspension. 

If you have refused a chemical (breath, blood, etc) test within the past six years, you would be eligible for driving privileges after the first 90 days of your suspension.

In addition to drivers license suspensions, an OVI conviction carries fines, jail time and other consequences.

Don’t plead guilty or no contest without talking to an Ohio OVI attorney about your options.

Call 614-361-2804 today for a free consultation.

Google+