In Ohio, reckless driving is a misdemeanor. The potential penalties for reckless driving are much more serious than those for certain other traffic violations. Penalties could include up to 90 days and a fine of up to $1,000.
Our Columbus reckless driving attorneys represent individuals who are facing reckless driving charges, by working to identify potential defenses toward achieving the best possible outcome in their cases.
Ohio’s reckless driving statute is found in R.C. 4511.20, which bans operation of a vehicle “in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property.” Violation of the statute for a first offense is usually charged as a minor misdemeanor.
However, if you have been convicted of another traffic offense within the prior year, it will likely be charged a fourth degree misdemeanor. Likewise, if you have been convicted of two or more traffic offenses in the prior year, it will likely be charged as a third degree misdemeanor (which carries up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine).
If you are convicted of reckless operation, the court can suspend your license under R.C. 4510.15. If you are found guilty, the court can impose a six-month to three-year license suspension of your driver’s license or CDL.
Additionally, an Ohio reckless driving conviction means the addition of four points on your driver’s license. Moreover, your auto insurance rates could rise or even be cancelled due to a reckless driving conviction.