Delaware County Driving Under Suspension Attorney

Riddell Law represents drivers throughout Delaware County in the Delaware Municipal Court facing driving under suspension charges.  

Attorney Douglas Riddell‘s comprehensive background includes representing commercial drivers and other motorists charged with driving under suspension whose licenses have been suspended.

Why Is My Ohio License is Suspended?

If you have been charged with driving under suspension in Delaware, but are unsure as to why your license is under suspension, you can get information about your suspension on the BMV’s website.  

Click the link below to check your Ohio license status.

Ohio BMV License Suspension Check

Delaware driving under suspension attorney

Delaware County Driving Under Suspension Ordinance

Delaware Code Section 335.07

 

Potential Penalties in Delaware County for Driving Under Suspension

Violation of the Delaware driving under suspension statute is a first degree misdemeanor.  Penalties can include:

  • Up to one year license suspension
  • $1000 fine
  • Up to 6 months in jail

If your license is suspended as a repeat traffic offender and you are convicted of driving under a 12-point suspension (an M1) in Delaware County, there is a mandatory minimum three day jail sentence. 

Additionally, if the vehicle is registered in your name and you have been convicted of or plead guilty to one driving under suspension charge within the last 3 years, the court may order:

  • the immobilization of the vehicle involved in the offense for 30 days and
  • the impoundment of that vehicle’s license plates for 30 days in accordance with Ohio R.C. 4503.233.

Further, if the vehicle is registered in your name and you have been convicted of or pled guilty to two driving under suspension charges within 3 years, the court may order:

  • the immobilization of the vehicle involved in the offense for 60 days and
  • the impoundment of that vehicle’s license plates for sixty days in accordance with Ohio R.C. 4503.233.

If the vehicle is registered in your name and you have been convicted of or pled guilty to 3 or more driving under suspension violations within 3 years, the court can order:

  • criminal forfeiture of the vehicle involved in the offense to the State.

Proof of Insurance (Financial Responsibility)

If  you are charged with driving under suspension in Delaware, the Delaware Municipal Court will also ask for proof of insurance.  If you did not have insurance at the time and were in an accident, the court can also order restitution up to $5000 arising from the accident.

For a free consultation to get advice on your Delaware County driving under suspension charge, call Riddell Law now at 614-361-2804.  

Google+